SIETAR USA Distinguished Members

On the occasion of SIETAR USA’s 15th Anniversary in 2015, we celebrated and honored those who had come before to create the unique society that is SIETAR USA


From its very beginning in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado, the idea of SIETAR was to create a forum for individuals doing significant work in the intercultural sphere to come together to dialog and collaborate. SIETAR grew out of a cross-cultural training conference sponsored by the U.S. Peace Corps in October 1968.

As Al Wight indicated in his story of Where It All Began, although the 1960s were a time of social unrest and turmoil, it was also a period of idealism, soul-searching, and social responsibility, concern about racial discrimination, injustice, inequity, and prejudice. The small cohort at the conference believed that we must all work toward effective and peaceful relations among the peoples of the world. And that it is a collective work of many caring and concerned professionals who support each other in moving toward this common goal.

The Society for Intercultural Training and Research (SITAR) was formed with Al Wight as the interim Executive Director. In 1971, SITAR moved from the University of Utah into the able hands of David Hoopes at the University of Pittsburgh; and Education was added to the name and mission of the society. In 1974 David and Toby Frank held the first Society for Intercultural Education, Training and Research (SIETAR) conference in Gaithersburg, Maryland (a suburb of Washington, DC).

It was always intended that SIETAR would be an international association, which was highlighted when it became SIETAR International under which local and regional SIETARs sprang across the globe. In the year 2000, SIETAR USA was formed by Margaret (Peggy) Pusch. It held its first conference also near Washington, DC in Fairfax, Virginia.


We honor the leaders over the decades who have shaped SIETAR; kept it alive and well; maintained its interdisciplinary character; and welcomed everyone from neophytes to seasoned professionals. We honor the 13 Presidents and the 3 Executive Directors who created the voice of SIETAR International. Also honored are the many members of SIETAR International’s Governing Council who spent hours meeting, reading, discussing and determining the policies and procedures that allowed SIETAR to carry out its mission and fulfill the vision of its founders.

SIETAR USA has had one Executive Director, Peggy Pusch. We celebrate Peggy’s diplomacy and good judgment that were instrumental in forming an association that was user friendly, financially sound, and met the challenges from within and without to the betterment of the intercultural field.

We hold with esteem all Presidents of SIETAR USA, who with the support of the Officers and Board of Directors, have brought together the traditions of the past and the challenges of today to forge a path toward the future.

The conference chairs for the 24 SIETAR International conferences deserve a round of applause, as well as the conference chairs in other parts of the world, and the chairs for all 15 of the very successful SIETAR USA conferences.

We stand on their shoulders and enjoy the fruits of their labors and caring concern.

 SIETAR International Presidents

1974 – 1976 Molefi Asante

1976 – 1978 Stephen Rhinesmith

1978 – 1980 Paul Pedersen

1980 – 1982 Pierre Casse

1982 – 1984 Beulah Rohrlich

1984 – 1986 Michael Prosser

1986 – 1988 Sandra Mumford Fowler

1988 – 1990 William Cosgrove

1990 – 1992 Alvino Fantini

1992 – 1994 Zareen Karani Lam de Araoz

1994 – 1996 Michael Miner

1996 – 1998 Jacqueline Howell Wasilewski

1998 – 2000 Adriana Arzac

SIETAR USA Presidents

2000 – 2004 Peggy Pusch

2005 – 2006 Heather Robinson

2007 – 2008 Esther Louie

2008 – 2009 Tatyana Fertelmeyster

2009 – 2010 Andy Reynolds

2011 – 2012 Kelli McLoud-Schingen

2013 – 2014 Christopher Deal

2015 – 2016 Patricia Malidor Coleman

2017 – 2018 Holly Emert

2019 – 2020 Sandra Fowler

2021 -  2022 Brett Parry

Primus Interpares

David Hoopes

George Renwick

Bob Kohls

Sandra Fowler

Lyn Tyler 

Optime Merens

Peggy Pusch

Sandra Fowler

Monica Mumford

Rob Pusch

Margaret D. Pusch Founders Award

2010 - Margaret D. Pusch

2011 - Laray Barna (Posthumous)

2011 - Noel Kreicker

2012 - Sandra Fowler

2013 - George Renwick

2014 - Janet M. Bennet

2015 - Richard D. Lewis

2016 - Ursula Brinkmann

2017 - John "Jack" Condon

2019 - Michael Paige (Posthumous)

2020 - Donna Stringer and Andy Reynolds